Daily Update On Current Affairs – November 19, 2017

Current affairs

Here’s your daily summary of Current Affairs.

Yes Bank signs MOU with Denmark Innovation Centre 
Private sector lender Yes Bank has signed a MoU with Innovation Centre Denmark India (ICDK India), a partnership between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark and the Danish Ministry of Higher Education and Science to bring FINTECH innovations and startups from Denmark to India, and facilitate entry of Indian startups to the region. The partnership aims to build bridges to promote innovation and assist FINTECH companies in India and Denmark to expand into each other’s markets. The Denmark Currency is the Danish Krone. Denmark is ranked no. 1 in the Global Innovation Index.
ICICI Bank and Paytm announce new initiative

Paytm and ICICI Bank have collaborated to announce an all-new initiative where users can get interest-free short-term digital credit. Called Paytm-ICICI Bank Postpaid, the new offer will let Paytm customers get instant credit for various use-cases like paying for movie tickets, bill payments, flights, as well as physical goods. As per the offer, customers can get digital credit account with instant activation without documentation or branch visit, and the activation will be online. Founder and CEO of Paytm is Vijay Shekhar Sharma. The CEO of ICICI Bank is Chanda Kochhar

Government Approves Mega Coastal Economic Zone in Mumbai Port
The government has given the go-ahead for setting up India’s first mega coastal economic zone (CEZ) at the Jawaharlal Nehru Port in Maharashtra as part of a plan to develop 14 such industrial clusters to spur manufacturing and generate jobs. About 45 companies across telecom, auto and IT sectors will soon bid for 200 hectares of land to set up manufacturing units in the zone. The plan envisages a total investment of Rs 15,000 crore in the first phase and creation of more than 1.5 lakh jobs
Nicaraguan author wins Spanish Cervantes Prize 2017    

Nicaraguan author and former politician Sergio Ramirez Mercado have won the 2017 Cervantes Prize. It is the Spanish-speaking world’s highest literary honour. Ramirez has written, “Margarita, esta linda la mar” (Margarita, How Beautiful the Sea), which won Spain’s prestigious Alfaguara award in 1998. Ramirez was deputy vice president of Nicaragua between 1985 and 1990. Spanish novelist Eduardo Mendoza won the prize in 2016. The prizes are presented on the anniversary of the death of Miguel de Cervantes, author of “Don Quixote”. The capital of Spain is Madrid and the currency is Euro.
Indian appointed Ambassador of World Packaging Organisation

Ecobliss India managing director AVPS Chakravarthi has been appointed as the ambassador of World Packaging Organisation at its 99th board meeting held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. He has served as chairman of Indian Institute of Packaging, Hyderabad and has been on the board of Indian Institute of Packaging for over a decade. He has won Worldstar award for packaging excellence for five years in a row. The WPO-World Packaging Organisation was founded on September 6, 1968, in Tokyo, Japan. The President of WPO is Mr. Thomas Schneider.
Shangun Chowdhary wins Trap Event in National Shooting Championship  

Shagun Chowdhary bagged the National Champion Crown when she won the women’s trap event at the 61st National Shooting Championship. Representing ONGC, Chowdhary is the first Indian woman trap shooter to win an Olympic berth. She beat Punjab’s Rajeshwari Kumari to prevail 41-38 in the final. Shreyasi Singh from Bihar won the event last year.
First WHO Global Ministerial Conference on Ending TB held

The WHO Global Ministerial Conference “Ending TB in the Sustainable Development Era: A Multisectoral Response” was held in Moscow, Russia. It aims to accelerate implementation of the WHO End TB Strategy – with immediate action. A Ministerial Declaration was signed at the Conference, containing bold commitments by countries to accelerate action to end TB and meet the milestones towards the 2030 SDGs. This will inform the UN General Assembly High-Level Meeting on TB in 2018. The WHO Director-General is Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, and its Headquarter is in Geneva, Switzerland. TB is a disease which in humans is usually caused by bacteria called Mycobacterium tuberculosis (M. tuberculosis). The capital of Russia is Moscow and its President-Vladimir Putin.

Canada Declared Best Travel Destination for 2017

The famous travel magazine “Travel+Leisure” has rated Canada as the Best Travel Destination for the year 2017. The selection was made from data collected from travel agents, arrival statistics and cultural relevance for the year 2017. Apart from the fact that Canada is a peaceful nation, the respondents of the data were near unanimous in the selection of Canada.
Country’s Longest Expressway to offer free wifi     

The country’s longest expressway between Agra and Lucknow will soon offer users free wifi on the entire 302 km stretch. Optical fibre cable will be laid along the six-lane expressway. The wifi will also enable Advanced Traffic Management System on the important highway.
November 17th – International Students Day

The 17th of November is celebrated as the International Students’ Day all over the world. The day was first observed in 1941 in London by the International Students’ Council. The day marks the anniversary of the Nazi storming the University of Prague in 1939. The Headquarters of International Students’ union is in Prague, Czechoslovakia and its current Secretary-General is Fergie Sherif.

Sushil Kumar, Sakshi Malik and Geetha Phogat win gold medals in National  Wrestling Championships     

On 16th November 2017, two-time Olympic-medallist Sushil Kumar, India’s lone woman Olympic medal winner Sakshi Malik and Geeta Phogat won gold medals in their respective categories in the National Wrestling championship in Indore. Sushil Kumar took less than three minutes to bag a gold medal as three of his rivals gave him a walkover in men’s 74kg freestyle competition. Sakshi won the gold after posting a dominating 10-0 victory over Pooja Tomar of Haryana in the final of women’s 62kg, while Geeta clinched the gold medal with a win against Ravita in the final of 59kg category.

current affairs
Share this...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someone

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of