Daily Update On Current Affairs – November 29, 2017

current affairs

Here’s your daily summary of Current Affairs.

First edition of INSPIRE 2017 in Jaipur        
The first edition of International Symposium to Promote Innovation & Research in Energy Efficiency (INSPIRE 2017) was held in Jaipur, Rajasthan. The five-day symposium is being organized by Energy Efficiency Services Limited (EESL) in partnership with The World Bank, and Alliance for an Energy Efficient Economy (AEEE). Its objective was to provide a common platform for energy efficiency community to discuss energy efficiency policies, emerging technologies, market transformation strategies, delivery and business-model-driven transformations.
Shri Saurabh Kumar is the Managing Director of EESL.
Shaktikanta Das appointed India’s G 20 Sherpa      

The Ministry of Finance appointed former economic affairs secretary Shaktikanta Das as India’s G20 Sherpa for the Development Track of the grouping. There are two tracks in G-20 — Finance Track and Development Track. Finance Track is managed by the secretary (economic affairs) as India’s Deputy to G-20 and the Development Track is coordinated by the Sherpa.
3rd ICCR Distinguished Indologist Award conferred on Prof.Hrioshi Marui 
President Ram Nath Kovind conferred the 3rd Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) Distinguished Indologist Award on Professor Hiroshi Marui of Japan at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Professor Marui has spent over 40 years working on Indian philosophy and Buddhist Studies. He is President of Japanese Association of Indian and Buddhist Studies and has made a significant contribution to Indology in Japan.
Indology is an academic study of history, cultures, languages and literature of India and is a subset of Asian studies.           
The first ICCR award was given to Prof. Heinrich Freiherr Von Stietencron of Germany in 2015.
Asian Development Bank to give $20 billion loans to India in next five years    

Multi-lateral funding agency Asian Development Bank (ADB) announced that it will increase its annual funding to India to up to $4 billion from existing $2.7 billion from next year to accelerate inclusive economic transformation. So cumulatively, India, the largest recipient of ADB, will get about 20 billion dollars over a period of 5 years. Under this strategy, ADB’s annual sovereign funding to India will increase from $2 billion to $3 billion while private sector funding will be doubled to $1 billion. 
Founded on 19 December 1966, ADB has its Headquarter in Mandaluyong, Philippines.       
President of ADB is Takehiko Nakao.
N.K. Singh to be the Chairman of the 15th Finance Commission

The government announced that former revenue secretary NK Singh will be the chairman of the 15th Finance Commission (FC) that will recommend distribution of taxes between the Centre and the states. Other members of the commission are a former department of economic affair secretary Shaktikanta Das, Anoop Singh, a professor at Georgetown University, former chief economic advisor Ashok Lahiri, an agricultural expert and NITI Aayog member Ramesh Chand. Chand and Lahiri are part-time members. The commission has to submit its report by October 30, 2019. The Finance Commission was established by the President of India in 1951.
7th World Military Games to be held in Wuhan in China     

The 7th international military games will be held in Wuhan city in the central China’s Hubei Province. The International Military Sports Council (CISM)’s Military World Games is a top sports event for military personnel. It comprises 329 competitions in 27 categories and is expected to attract around 8,000 participants from more than 100 countries and regions.
  • The Emblem-consists of a dove, a star, ribbons and other elements.
  • The Mascot of the Games is called Bing Bing. Its design is based on the Chinese sturgeon, a critically endangered fish known as the “panda in water”.
  • The Slogan of the Games is Military glory, world peace.
  •  The International Military Sports Council (CISM) was founded in 1948 and its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium.
Indian Men’s and Women’s Teams crowned Asian Champions in Kabbadi    

The Indian men’s and women’s kabaddi teams were both crowned the champions of Asia after beating Pakistan and South Korea respectively in Gorgan, Iran. Star raider Ajay Thakur led from the front in the men’s final, as India beat their arch-rivals Pakistan 36-22. The Indian women’s team beat South Korea 42-20 in their final.
With 5 gold medals, India becomes winner of AIBA World Women Youth Boxing Championships           

India won 5 gold medals at the AIBA World Women’s Youth Boxing Championships, in Guwahati. Nitu (48kg), Jyoti Gulia (51kg), Sakshi Choudhury (54kg), Shashi Chopra (57kg) and Ankushita Boro (64kg) won gold medals for India in the finals. Jyoti Gulia also qualified for next year’s Youth Olympic Games in Argentina. Ankushita was named the boxer of the tournament.
President of Boxing Federation of India is Ajay Singh.
India wins 10 medals at Para-Badminton World Championships

Indian contingent to BWF Para-Badminton World Championships in Ulsan, South Korea has clinched 10 medals, including two gold medals. India’s Parul Parmar defeated Thailand’s Wannaphatdee Kamtam in the finals of the women’s singles Standing Lower (SL3). Other gold was also won by Parul Parmar, who paired with Japan’s Akiko Sugino in women’s doubles (SL 3-4) final.
Prime Minister inaugurates Hyderabad Metro Rail  

Prime Minister Narendra Modi dedicated to the nation Hyderabad Metro Rail on 28th November 2017. Mr Modi unveiled a pylon at Miyapur metro railway station on the outskirts of Hyderabad to mark the formal inauguration of the first phase of Hyderabad Metro from Miyapur to Nagole. The stretch of 30 kilometres with 24 metro stations will be open for commercial operations from 29th November 2017.
Srikanth, Sindhu and Ashwin win top Sporting Honours  

Ace shuttler Kidambi Srikanth, who won four Super Series titles this year, bagged the Sportsman of the Year award at the inaugural edition of Indian Sports Honours held in Mumbai. A release said Olympic silver medalist PV Sindhu was the Sportswoman of the Year award in the individual sports category. Ravichandran Ashwin, who became the fastest bowler to reach ‘Club 300‘ in Test cricket was awarded Sportsman of the Year award while women’s cricket team skipper Mithali Raj was awarded Sportswoman of the Year award in the Team Sports category. The Indian Women’s Cricket Team, which ended as runners-up in the ICC Women’s World Cup, were named as the Team of the Year.
Pradeep Singh Karola appointed Chairman and MD of Air India 

On 28th November 2017, the Government announced that Pradeep Singh Karola is being appointed as the Chairman and Managing Director of Air India, replacing Rajiv Bansal. An IAS Officer of the Karnataka cadre, Pradeep Singh Karola is currently the Managing Director of the Bengaluru Metro Rail Corporation Ltd.

current affairs
Share this...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someone

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of