TET 2016


Know Your Exam

A person to be eligible for appointment as a teacher or Lecturer in any of the schools recognized by the Department of School Education, Haryana and affiliated by the Board of School Education, Haryana has to qualify the Haryana Teachers Eligibility Test. Qualifying in the Teacher Eligibility Test is made mandatory to ensure that persons recruited as teachers possess the essential aptitude and ability to meet the challenges of teaching at Elementary, Secondary and Senior Secondary levels.

In the year 2008, the Board was notified as examining body for the conduct of “Teachers Eligibility Test” by the State Government and thereafter the Board started conducting this test with effect from the year 2008 in the name of STET (School Teachers Eligibility Test) till 2009. However after implementation of RTE Act, 2009 and issuance of notification by the NCTE in the year 2011, this examination was renamed as HTET(Haryana Teachers Eligibility Test). This test is conducted by this Board for all the three categories of school teachers i.e. Primary, TGT and PGT. in accordance with the guidelines and such other Rules/Regulations/Instructions/Policies laid down by the National Council for Teacher Education/Department of School Education, Haryana.

Official Website



In accordance with the provisions made in the Service Rules of various categories of teaching staff in the State of Haryana, RTE Act, 2009 and guidelines framed by the NCTE, HTET shall apply to

i) Schools of the State Government / Local authority referred to in the Service Rules and also Sub-clause (i) of clause (n) of Section 2 of the RTE Act, 2009; and

ii) Schools referred to in Sub clause (ii) of clause (n) of the RTE Act in Haryana

Provided a School referred to in Sub-clause (iv) of clause (n) of Section 2 of the RTE Act may, for the purpose of Elementary levels, exercise the option of considering either this HTET or the TET conducted by the Central Government.


All individuals who posses minimum educational qualifications etc. as prescribed by the Department of School Education, Government of Haryana are eligible to take this eligibility test. This will be for three categories:-

who intents to be a teacher for classes I to V and fulfills the minimum qualification.

who intents to be a teacher for classes VI to VIII and fulfills the minimum qualification.

who intents to be a lecturer for classes IX to XII and fulfills the minimum qualification.


After qualifying HTET the candidates will acquire the eligibility in respect of having qualified HTET. However, such HTET qualified candidates will need to satisfy all eligibility requirements as per State Recruitment Rules in order to become qualified for getting recruited as teacher of respective category in any of the school as per the qualifying condition laid down by prospective employers.



The duration of examination will be two and a half hours. There shall be only one paper having 150 ” Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs)” each carrying one mark with four alternative out of which one answer will be correct. The question paper for each category will be based on the content & structure as prescribed by the Department of School Education, Government of Haryana.


(Followed for HTET 2013-14)


Child Development and pedagogy 30 MCQs 30 Marks